2014 - MISGA PAST PRESIDENTS (ABCD) CHAMPIONSHIP TOURNAMENT

This year's championship tournament was held on Monday, August 11, at scenic Wild Quail Country Club in Wyoming, DE. In early morning, 98 veteran finalists representing 36 of MISGA's 62 member clubs hopped into their autos and hit the roads of Maryland, Delaware and Pennsylvania to vie for the coveted title of MISGA's individual gross and net Grand Champion crowns. The weather god was quite cooperative. She provided sunshine



filtered by light clouds and a temperature ranging in the mid-to-high 70s. The course at Wild Quail was in immaculate playing condition. The tee boxes, fairways, greens and the roughs were a golfer's dream. From the forward (gold) tees, the par 72 course measured 5,871 yards with a course rating of 68.4 and a slope of 122. Playing time ranged from "first in" at 4 hours & 30 minutes to "last in" at 5 hours & 5 minutes.

The PP-ABCD tournament was established in 1991 to recognize and honor MISGA's past presidents who had devoted so much of their time and effort to promote the mission and objectives of our seniors golfing organization. This year, three past presidents participated. They were L-R below: **Tom Taylor** (2011), **Byron Keadle** (2009) and **Tom Tarpley** (2006).



1

After all the scores were posted and calculated, the *Gross Grand Champion* title and trophy were captured by **Charles Gouert** (Rookery North - Div. I). He shot an even par 72 nosing out **Len Moyer** (Hobbit's Glen - Div. IV) by a mere 2 strokes.



GROSS GRAND CHAMPION (L-R): Lloyd Stimson (MISGA Tournament Chairman), Joe Baily (Director, Div. I), Charles Gouert (GGC), Tyler Smith (Head Pro); Bob Hodges (Tournament Coordinator & MISGA Club Rep)

On the net side of the tournament, Dave Denison (Holly Hills, Div. II) shot a blazing 63 to nip Jake Jacobi (Norbeck, Div. IV) by a single stroke. Denison was crowned Net Grand Champion and received the trophy symbolic of the accomplishment.



NET GRAND CHAMPION (L-R): Lloyd Stimson (MISGA Tournament Chairman), Joe Baily (Director, Div. I), Dave Denison (NGC), Tyler Smith (Head Pro), Bob Hodges (Tournament Coordinator & MISGA Club Rep)

Many thanks and kudos go to the entire staff of Wild Quail Country Club. Their hard work and diligence provided MISGA with a fantastic tournament. Praise and thanks must go to GM Rick McCall for agreeing to host our tournament. Success always begins at the top. Gratitude and many thanks go to Wild Quail's energetic and personable Head Pro Tyler Smith, his very capable assistants Bob Rementer and



Tori Yanovich and the other members of the pro shop staff. The outstanding performance of the pro shop team ensured the success of all golf related activities. Special kudos and thanks go to Course Superintendent Jason Cheeks and his gifted course management team. They had the course in immaculate playing condition ... especially the well-manicured greens. It was a pure pleasure to play the course. Many accolades go to Special Events Manager Jessica Strever and Executive Chef Lorraine and their entire dining and bar staffs. They provided an excellent pre-golf box lunch for all the participants and volunteers. This was followed by a relaxing and most pleasant post-golf cocktail hour with appropriate libations and delectable hors d'oeuvres. For the awards banquet, the greybeard finalists were treated to a connoisseur's double entrée feast (filet & crab cake) with equally tasty sides, a cheese cake dessert and apt beverages. All were an epicurean's delight.

The success of this year's ABCD tournament could not have been accomplished without the attentiveness, efforts and management skills of WQCC's MISGA Club Rep Bob Hodges who served as the Tournament Coordinator. He was everywhere doing everything. His performance at the helm was no less than outstanding. And many thanks go to MISGA Division I Director Joe Baily for his jack-of-all-trades assistance and wise counsel. Hodges and Baily made an excellent team.

Special recognition, thanks and accolades must go to the many MISGA members of WQCC who so graciously volunteered their time and assistance to serve as ball spotters and perform many other tournament related activities. Their efforts were priceless.

Lloyd Stimson

MISGA Tournament Chairman

For many more photos of the *PP-ABCD* tournament, open the link below to *Tom Tarpley's Photo Pages on the MISGA website*.

http://www.drtomtarpley.com/pp/index.htm

2014 - MISGA PAST PRESIDENTS (ABCD) CHAMPIONSHIP

WILD QUAIL COUNTRY CLUB - MONDAY - AUGUST 11, 2014



GRAND CHAMPIONS (Trophies & Gift Certificates)

Finish	Amt.	Champion	Score	Div.	Club
GROSS	\$90	GOUERT, Charles	72	I	Rookery North
NET	\$90	DENISON, Dave	63	II	Holly Hills



FLIGHT WINNERS (Gift Certificates)

(All ties broken by a match-of-cards)

"A" FLIGHT

Finish	Amt.	Winner	Score	Div.	Club
16	\$75	MOYER, Len	74	IV	Hobbit's Glen
26	\$55	DeGROUCHY, Ron	75	VI	Cross Creek
3 <i>G</i>	\$35	WILSON, Doug	76	IV	Hobbit's Glen
1N	\$75	WISE, Ches	66	I	Wild Quail
2N	\$55	BRADLEY, Chuck	67	I	Wild Quail
3N	\$35	POOLE, Ashton	68	VI	U.S. Naval Academy

"B" FLIGHT

Finish	Amt.	Winner	Score	Div.	Club
1 <i>G</i>	\$75	BODMER, George	79	III	River House - Easton
2 <i>G</i>	\$55	DISTEFANO, Tom	83	I	Rookery North
3 <i>G</i>	\$35	SCARBOROUGH, Steve	84	IV	Hobbit's Glen
1N	\$75	NOELL, J. D.	66	VI	Bowie
2N	\$55	RIGGINS, Russell	68	I	Wild Quail
3N	\$35	FITZSIMMONS, Bob	70	II	Holly Hills

"C" FLIGHT

Finish	Amt.	Winner	Score	Div.	Club
16	\$75	BREWER, Tim	87	II	Rattlewood
26	\$55	RICHARD, Ron	88	VI	Compass Pointe
3 <i>G</i>	\$35	HURD, Butch	88	VI	Compass Pointe
1N	\$75	FANNING, Chris	68	VI	Fairway Hills
2N	\$55	MERRY, Carl	70	IV	Montgomery
3N	\$35	MAGRUDER, Jack	70	VI	Bowie

"D" FLIGHT

Finish	Amt.	Winner	Score	Div.	Club
1 <i>G</i>	\$75	EMERT, Joe	89	VI	Bowie
2 <i>G</i>	\$55	NORMYLE, Patrick	91	II	Rattlewood
3 <i>G</i>	\$35	PRITZLAFF, Bob	93	III	Chester River
1N	\$75	JACOBI, Jake	64	IV	Norbeck
2N	\$55	TARPLEY, Tom	69	II	Holly Hills
3N	\$35	BOWEN, Larry	69	VI	Compass Pointe

CLOSEST-TO-THE-PIN (Box of balls)

Hole	Yardage	Winner	Dist. to Cup	Div.	Club
#4	115 yds.	McKINNEY, Warren	3' 8"	II	Rattlewood
#8	163 yds.	GRAYSON, Craig	1' 3"	IV	Norbeck
#13	171 yds.	PRADO, Joe	6' 9"	VI	Crofton
#17	128 yds.	GRAYSON, Craig	2' 2"	IV	Norbeck

CLOSEST-TO-THE-LINE (Box of balls)

Hole	Yardage	Winner	Dist. to Line	Div.	Club
#1	448 yds.	BRAVO, Charlie	"on the line"	VI	National at Tantallon

WINNERS BY DIVISION

Div.	Finalists	Winners
I	12	5
II	19	5
III	8	2
IV	17 *	5
V	8	0
VI	36	9
TOTAL	100	26

^{* 2} No Shows

TIME OF PLAY

First Foursome In	4h 30m
Last Foursome In	5h 5m