2015 - MISGA PAST PRESIDENTS (ABCD) CHAMPIONSHIP TOURNAMENT

This year's championship tournament was contested on Thursday, August 6, at scenic Norbeck Country Club in Rockville, MD. In early morning, 100 greybeard golfing veterans representing 33 of MISGA's 60 member clubs climbed into their automobiles and hit the motorways of Delaware, Maryland and Pennsylvania



to do battle for the highly coveted title of MISGA's individual Gross and Net Grand Champion. However, dear old Mother Nature decided to toy with the gallant warriors. She threatened them with an overcast sky and sprinkled them with a few drops of rain for about two holes near the end. The temperature ranged from the high 70s to the low 80s. As is the norm, Norbeck's fabulous course was in immaculate playing condition with neatly manicured tee boxes, fairways, greens and untroublesome roughs. From the forward (gold tees), the par 72 course measured 5,790 yards with a course rating of 68.1 and a slope of 124. Playing time ranged from "first in" at 4 hours & 30 minutes to a "last in" at 5 hours.

The PP-ABCD tournament was established in 1991 to recognize and honor MISGA's past presidents who had devoted so much of their time and effort to promote the mission and objectives of our seniors' golfing organization. This year, three past presidents were able to attend and participate in the event. L-R below, they are: **Dr. Tom Tarpley** (2006), **C. J.**Myers (1997) & Tom Taylor (2011).



After all the scores were attested and posted, two wily veteran golfers had tied for the *Gross* crown by shooting a blazing 74. Whereupon, **Jeff Allen** (Hog Neck - Div III) and **Len Moyer** (Hobbit's Glen - Div. IV) were carted out to the hole #1 tee box for a sudden-death playoff (par 4 - 351 yards - #15 handicap hole). On the green, **Allen** sank a birdie putt to capture the **Gross Grand Champion** title, trophy and a \$100 gift certificate.



GROSS GRAND CHAMPION (L-R): Clark Sisson (NCC Head Pro), Lloyd Stimson (MISGA Tournament Chairman), Jeff Allen (GGC), Jake Jacobi (NCC MISGA Club Rep)

On the *Net* side of the tournament, golden-ager **Bob Diamond** (*Norbeck - Division IV*) shot a blazing 64 for a two stroke margin over five hot shooting seniors who carded a 66. **Denison** was crowned *Net Grand Champion* and awarded the trophy and a \$100 gift certificate.



NET GRAND CHAMPION (L-R): Clark Sisson (NCC Head Pro), Lloyd Stimson (MISGA Tournament Chairman), Bob Diamond (NGC), Jake Jacobi (NCC MISGA Club Rep)

Many thanks and kudos must go to the entire staff of Norbeck Country Club. Their hard work, attentiveness and maximum effort provided MISGA with an exemplary tournament. Much praise and thanks must go to GM John Warnack for agreeing to host MISGA's annual PP -ABCD tournament. Success always starts at the top. Also, many accolades and thanks must go to Norbeck's highly personable and virtuoso Head Pro Clark Sisson, his capable assistants Andrew Stenger & Mike Grantham and the entire pro shop staff. The outstanding performance of the pro shop team ensured the great success of all golf related activities. Special kudos and thanks go to Course Superintendent Jay Nalls and his gifted course management team. They had the course in immaculate playing condition .. especially the wellmanicured greens. A legion of accolades and thanks go to Catering Director Charlotte Kates and Executive Chef Richard Norton and the entire dining and bar staffs. They delivered an outstanding pre-golf BBQ luncheon with all the trimmings. This was followed by a relaxing and most pleasant post-golf cocktail hour with appropriate libations and delectable hors d'oeuvres. For the banquet, the greybeard finalists were feted to a connoisseur's double entrée feast (filet & crab cake) with equally tasty sides. The finale included ice cream with a brownie. All were an epicurean's delight.

The success of this year's PP-ABCD tournament could not have been accomplished without the attentiveness, efforts and management skills of Tournament Coordinator Gary Manion and NCC's MISGA Club Rep Jake Jacobi. Their performance was outstanding. MISGA owes Gary and Jake many kudos, thanks and its gratitude. They made an excellent team.

Lloyd Stimson

MISGA Tournament Chairman

Gary Manion (Tournament Coordinator, Div. IV Director & Div. IV Tournament Chairman)

NOTE: Scroll down for a complete list of all the 2015 PP-ABCD winners (pages 4-6)

For many more photos of the 2015 PP-ABCD tournament, open the link below to *Tom Tarpley's Photo Pages on the MISGA website*.

Go to - MISGA.org / Documents / Pictures / Tom Tarpley's Photo Gallery - then scroll down to the bottom of the page for the PP-ABCD link.



2015 - MISGA PAST PRESIDENTS (ABCD) CHAMPIONSHIP

NORBECK COUNTRY CLUB -- THURSDAY - AUGUST 6, 2015





GRAND CHAMPIONS (Trophy & Gift Certificate)

Finish	Amt.	Champion	Score	Div.	Club
GROSS	\$100	ALLEN, Jeff	74	I	Wild Quail
NET	\$100	DIAMOND, Bob	64	IV	Norbeck

(Jeff Allen defeated Len Moyer on hole #1 of a sudden-death playoff)





FLIGHT WINNERS (Gift Certificates)

(All ties broken by a match-of-cards)

"A" FLIGHT

Finish	Amt.	Winner	Score	Div.	Club
16	\$80	MOYER, Len	74	IV	Hobbit's Glen
2 <i>G</i>	\$60	DUVALL, Tom	75	IV	Bretton Woods
3 <i>G</i>	\$40	EGGE, Robert	75	IV	Hobbit's Glen
1N	\$80	WICKLESS, Frank	66	II	Musket Ridge
2N	\$60	BURKE, Tim	66	IV	Norbeck
3N	\$40	MORAN, Joe	68	VI	Bay Hills

"B" FLIGHT

Finish	Amt.	Winner	Score	Div.	Club
16	\$80	GRIMES, Ray	76	IV	Norbeck
2 <i>G</i>	\$60	KATZ, Jack	79	IV	Bretton Woods
3 <i>G</i>	\$40	STONEMAN, Russ	80	VI	Timbers of Troy
1N	\$80	EWALT, Jim	66	VI	National at Tantallon
2N	\$60	HAMILL, Mel	67	I	Eagle Creek
3N	\$40	BAILEY, Joe	67	I	Garrisons Lake

"C" FLIGHT

Finish	Amt.	Winner	Score	Div.	Club
1 <i>G</i>	\$80	LAVELL, Mike	87	VI	Cross Creek
2 <i>G</i>	\$60	BISKER, Rick	89	٧	Nutters Crossing
3 <i>G</i>	\$40	BLEVINS, Darrell	90	II	Musket Ridge
1N	\$80	FANNING, Chris	67	VI	Fairway Hills
2N	\$60	MASOOD, Ed	68	II	Fountain Head
3N	\$40	MYERS, Errol	69	IV	Norbeck

"D" FLIGHT

Finish	Amt.	Winner	Score	Div.	Club
16	\$80	NORMYLE, Patrick	89	II	Rattlewood
26	\$60	GASIOROWSKI, Jeff	91	VI	Fairway Hills
3 <i>G</i>	\$40	BRASSE, Doug	92	IV	Leisure World
1N	\$80	DENISON, Dave	66	II	Holly Hills
2N	\$60	CONROY, Pat	66	II	Rattlewood
3N	\$40	WEEG, Jim	68	V	Nutters Crossing

CLOSEST-TO-THE-PIN (Box of balls)

Hole	Yardage	Winner	Dist. to Cup	Div.	Club
3	142 yds.	EGGE, Bob	3' 9"	IV	Hobbit's Glen
6	158 yds.	CAMPBELL, Ray	4' 1/2"	III	Hog Neck
12	160 yds.	BODMER, George	5' 1"	III	Hog Neck
16	169 yds.	BODMER, George	2'	III	Hog Neck

CLOSEST-TO-THE-LINE (Box of balls)

Hole	Yardage	Winner	Dist. to Line	Div.	Club
7	404 yds.	THOMPSON, George	1' 5"	II	Musket Ridge

WINNERS BY DIVISION

Div.	Alotted	Finalists	Winners
I	13	10	3
II	19	22*	6
III	9	9	0
IV	21	27*	9
V	7	7	2
VI	21	25	6
TOTAL	90	100*	26

TIME OF PLAY

First Foursome In	4h 30m
Last Foursome In	5h

^{*} Includes 3 MISGA Past Presidents & 2014 PP-ABCD Net Grand Champion.

⁵ Past Presidents and the 2014 PP-ABCD Gross Grand Champion did not fill their allotted slots.